h&f 0054 On Being Colorblind or… Why aren’t roses clear?

Roses are, indeed, Red

Roses are, indeed, Red

I was a bit harsh on some people in high school, college, graduate school, and after,who meant well when they said to me, “H&F, I’m colorblind.  When I look at you, I don’t see black.”  I said, in response, “Why does color matter everywhere else for you?? Traffic lights, Cars, …Roses?? I’ve never heard you wish for clear roses.  I’m sick of your ignorance.” [not exact quote but no need to rehash ballistics right?] I regret that – not the fact of it, but the attitude I gave them.  Again, they meant well.  But they could not see what was so fundamentally wrong and even insulting about the statement. I just bumped into a post that put the argument better and dug into a couple of different angles on not seeing color.

Why Color Does Matter

much peace.

~ by ericjhenderson on October 13, 2008.

One Response to “h&f 0054 On Being Colorblind or… Why aren’t roses clear?”

  1. Blindness prevents you from seeing color, seeing differences.

    You can be blind by birth or accident but it would be foolish to choose to be blind just because you cannot handle differences.

    In my opinion, and I said this before, it is a big fat lie (or foolishness) to claim that the color factor of Barack Obama is irrelevant.
    It is completely relevant, and all important!

    For those who still doubt it: ask yourself if White has been an irrelevant coincidence on the skins of the previous 43 Presidents.

Leave a Reply

 
